Stephen vs the Weight Monster

Posted: August 27, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Here I go again.

Here we go again

Today I embark on a quest. Like Christopher Columbus set out to find the “New World”, today I set out to find the “Thin Me”. I know he’s in here. Just like Columbus had actually been to North America three times before he “discovered” America I have lost substantial amounts of weight three times. Like Columbus I hope the fourth time is a charm.

Since I’m in a historical mood today, a little history about me and weight: When I was in my 30′s I woke up one morning and decided I needed to lose weight. Ten weeks later I was thirty pounds lighter. In my 40′s I reached the same decision and ten weeks later I was forty pounds lighter. A few years ago, now in my 50′s, I rolled out of bed, hit the floor with a resounding thud and decided I needed to do it again. Twelve weeks later I was fifty pounds lighter.

Before & After

This tells you two important things about me. I’m a world-class champion at losing weight. And I suck at keeping it off.

When Carolyn and I decided to lose weight and include you, our Facebook, Twitter and TV friends I told you the journey is the destination. That’s especially true for me. When Columbus set out on his fourth exploration he knew the world wasn’t flat and he wasn’t going to fall off. I know with certainty I will reach my weight goal. My real journey begins the day I do.

I’m glad to have you aboard for this journey. I promise I will be supportive if not occasionally obsessive about it. But after we complete our journey and reach our destination… that’s when I’m going to really need your help.

Lets roll!

Stephen

Comments
  1. Dave says:

    You got this, bro.

  2. Jean Lightbourn says:

    I’m onboard !

  3. Effie313 says:

    You look great already!!!!! But I’m in anyway.

  4. Pat Williams says:

    I’m in but but while you’re in maintenance mode, I’ll probably still be losing! :)

  5. Bill Bechamp says:

    I’m in Stephen!! Lets do this!!!

  6. Nancy says:

    I’m with you in this weight monster. We will do this. With encouragement and ideas we all can be losers.

  7. margaret walter says:

    I too, have decided that today is the day! UGH!! I have done this SOOO many times before and I wish I was as excited about it as you seem to be! Haha. Keep us motivated Stephen, keep us motivated! See ya on 7! :)

  8. just to make you feel better i’ve never weighed more than 160 in my life. hovering around 150 now!
    I can eat what I want, drink what I want and it makes no difference.
    Yes it is ok to hate me for this.

  9. Anita Nelson says:

    Deal~! My lack of weight control has kept me from reaching my true potential (Musical Theater major). I finally just stopped even performing which is devastating for me. I plan to lose this weight wthout starting to smoke again (oh yes, smoking makes you lose weight really fast – then when you quit as you must, you gain it all back plus 50). Looking forward to performing again in some capacity. I think that will help keep me on the straight and narrow. =)

Leave a Reply

