I confess. I Follow @aplusk on Twitter.

Posted: June 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

I don’t know why, but I follow Ashton Kutcher. I think it happened in a moment of weakness a couple years ago when I first signed up for Twitter and I was desperate for friends. I guess I figured Ashton was Twitter’s equivalent to MySpace’s Tom who was so desperate for friends he invented a whole social network. Or maybe I got caught up in the whole Kutcher vs. CNN thing…who would reach 1 million followers first? I’m not sure I helped either’s cause since I followed both. Or maybe I was curious about the guy Demi Moore dumped Bruce Willis for–I mean Willis is a stud!

But if i followed Ashton Kutcher because I wanted a friend I was sadly deceived. As of this morning Kutcher had 5,157,617 followers (I’m sure that number has doubled by now) but he only follows 571 people…and I’m not one of them. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure Ashton is a busy guy working on his next Oscar-winning performance or Coolpix commercial but you’d think he’d have time to follow a lowly news anchor from Detroit.

Maybe this all wouldn’t be so painful if I felt I was getting something out of this one-side relationship but judging from his posts I’m not sure that’s the case. Here’s his latest: Time for some Futbol!!! If feels like south of the boarder day.

All the advice I read about Twitter suggests I should try to add value to my followers lives with my Tweets. Other than informing me that Ashton has a slight spelling problem I’m not sure how my life has been improved.

Kutcher and Clark

I’m sorry if I sound bitter… but this is all so painful in light of our past history. That’s right, Ashton and I used to be close. It was 2000…I was hosting a TV show in New York…Ashton was promoting his latest cinematic masterpiece “Dude Where’s My Car“. It was a time to remember, we laughed, we cried and in the five minutes we spent together before his promoter whisked him off to do Letterman I thought a connection had been made. I guess i was wrong. I’m not even in his top 571.

I decided to take my complaint to the top. That’s right, I went straight to @oprah. Afterall Oprah and I go way back. I was a guest on her show in 2002. I still haven’t heard back from her.

It turns out she’s only following 187 people. And I’m not one of them.

Stephen


Comments
  1. tinakozak says:

    Fun post, and i loved watching the Oprah interview. Such a nice lesson in work-life balance. Plus the old-school computers and VCR references were funny too. Technology has changed in eight years, huh?

  2. Don’t feel bad, I’m sure the other 5million plus people he is not following is wondering the same thing about Ashton… The way I see it. Its an ego thing. Some people collect followers to stroke their ego’s. I think if your going to follow somoene, well follow them because they have good tweets, or you like what they do.

    I am fortunate I do know several famous people & have a good producer friend who I speak to everyday on the phone. But I couldn’t give a hoot what a persons job is, if they are famous or not. Its the old bible cliche, treat everyone as you would want to be treated & most of all, just be yourself.

    I try to keep tabs with my fellow followers & if someone directs a tweet to me, I make sure I respond. Common courtesy & kindness is most important when it comes to twitter, facebook, myspace or any other social network. Sometimes, Just saying a friendly Hello to others, can make a person Smile.

    Nowadays it seems like their is just so much competition on social networks for attention. Live, Love, Laugh … Enjoy Life, one day at a time.

  3. jamiefavreau says:

    I have to agree on the technology reference.

    Well thank you for coming to Detroit and having one of your stops in your career be this great city. Your boss chose a great market to be in. We have the small town feel in a big city.

    Oprah should be following you after all you were on her show.

    Great lessons learned in your Oprah spot as well. Don’t be invisible. Even if she is to you on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

